Moana Pasifika team named to play the Queensland Reds

Moana Pasifika has named their side to play the Queensland Reds at Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium, at 7:45pm, in round 14 of the DHL Super Rugby Pacific season.

Abraham Pole starts at loosehead prop after picking up his fourth try of the season against the Fijian Drua to become the team’s top try-scorer. Ray Niuia will start at hooker and Sekope Kepu will play tighthead prop in his 149th Super Rugby match.

Samuel Slade returns to the team after missing last weekend’s game and combines with Michael Curry at lock. An unchanged loose forward trio of Sione Tu’ipulotu, Solomone Funaki and Henry Time-Stowers complete the forward pack.

A different 9 and 10 combination to last week of Jonathan Taumateine and Christian Leali’ifano will take the field, with Ereatara Enari and Lincoln McClutchie moving to the bench to provide impact.

Danny Toala and Solomone Kata will work together in the midfield and have both been in great form. Tomasi Alosio comes into the match day 23 and will start on the right wing, with Timoci Tavatavanawai retaining his spot on the left wing. William Havili completes the starting team at fullback.

Luteru Tolai comes on to the bench this week and joins Ezekiel Lindenmuth and Joe ‘Apikotoa in the front row replacements. Alex McRobbie and Jack Lam provide lock and loose forward cover, and Henry Taefu provides utility cover for the backs.

Queensland Reds v Moana Pasifika
Friday 20 May
Kick off 7.45pm local time
Brisbane, Suncorp Stadium

  1. Abraham Pole
  2. Ray Niuia
  3. Sekope Kepu (c)
  4. Michael Curry
  5. Samuel Slade
  6. Sione Tu’ipulotu
  7. Solomone Funaki
  8. Henry Time-Stowers
  9. Jonathan Taumateine
  10. Christian Leali’ifano (vc)
  11. Timoci Tavatavanawai
  12. Danny Toala
  13. Solomone Kata
  14. Tomasi Alosio
  15. William Havili
  16. Luteru Tolai
  17. Ezekiel Lindenmuth
  18. Joe ‘Apikotoa
  19. Alex McRobbie
  20. Jack Lam
  21. Ereatara Enari
  22. Lincoln McClutchie
  23. Henry Taefu

Unavailable due to injury or illness: Lotu Inisi, Isi Tu’ungafasi, Mike McKee, Don Lolo, Alamanda Motuga, Neria Foma’I, Anzelo Tuitavuiki.

See all news