Two debutants for Moana Pasifika in Cultural Round

Moana Pasifika return to where it all began at Go Media Stadium Mt Smart this Cultural Round.

There are changes to this week’s team that will meet the Gallagher Chiefs, with rest and opportunities being considered. 

It will be a special night for Lalomilo Lalomilo who will make his Moana Pasifika debut at centre against his former club. The skilful back will get his chance to impress linking up with Pepesana Patafilo in the midfield.

For North Harbour halfback Siaosi Nginingini it will also be a memorable game as he has the potential to make his Super Rugby Pacific debut off the bench.

A member of the development side, Nginingini has worked diligently throughout the year to earn his place in the playing 23. 

Moana Pasifika Assistant Coach Tom Coventry said: “The Chiefs have set themselves a part in this competition. They’re a tough team and they’ll be trying to get themselves to the end of the season in form.”

“It will be a big challenge for us, we were poor the last time we played them and didn’t measure up. So we’re going to try close that gap this week.”

“Some of our guys have done a fair amount of travelling and it takes its toll. We’ve got a group that have worked really hard with our trainer while we’ve been away. It’s an opportunity to give them a crack and get our squad back together again,” said Coventry.

Sateki Latu and Suetena Asomua both get the start at prop, and Sama Malolo earns a start at hooker.

Semisi Paea shifts into lock. Meanwhile Alamanda Motuga returns to the field for the first time since Round One, playing at flanker and joining Miracle Faiilagi.

Aisea Halo will be at halfback pairing up with D’Angelo Leuila who will orchestrate the playmaking at fly half.

Neria Fomai and Nigel Ah Wong will cover the wings, meanwhile Danny Toala starts at fullback.

Joining the impact team is Tomasi Maka, Abraham Pole, Sione Mafileo, Tom Savage, Irie Papuni, Otumaka Mausia and Kyren Taumoefolau.

Unavailable due to injury: Anzelo Tuitavuki, James Lay, Jonathan Taumateine, Ofa Tauatevalu, Samuel Slade, Solomone Funaki.


See all news