Havili Talitui, Inisi win big at Moana Pasifika Awards

The 2024 Moana Pasifika annual awards was held on Wednesday evening celebrating the club’s most successful season yet.

Sione Havili Talitui took out the top honour of Moana Man of the Year and the Tangaloa Award for the Best Defensive Player.

A Moana Man is considered a leader in every way, a trusted teammate who speaks with his actions by preparing and performing at the highest standards of excellence, while demanding excellence from his peers.

Lotu Inisi took home four awards including the Forward of the Year, Maui Award for Best Attacking Player and the Players’ Player of the Year. The number 8 has been a powerhouse for Moana Pasifika this season, consistently an outstanding performer every week.

He also shared the Johnston Associates Fans Player of the Year with his brother and dazzling back Fine Inisi.

In his maiden season with Moana Pasifika, Julian Savea was a solid presence in the midfield taking home the Tuifa’asisina Sir Bryan Willians Back of the Year award. 

Hard-working Lock Allan Craig was awarded Niu Rookie of the Year, while Alistair Saulala was named Moana Pasifika Under 20s Player of the Year. He was a key figure in the team that competed at the Super Rugby Under 20s Tournament in Taupō.

Departing foundation player Solomone Funaki was the recipient of the Tautua Award. The spirit and the essence of tautua is ‘leadership through service’ and this award honours Funaki for his selfless contribution to the team.

It was also a special night for Henry Taefu who won the Galue Award, presented to a player who works diligently on their off-field growth and holistic development. 

Funaki along with fellow departing pioneers Christian Lealiifano and Sekope Kepu were recognised for their service to the club over the last three seasons which will leave a lasting legacy. 

Moana Pasifika Awards 2024

Moana Man of the Year – Sione Havili Talitui

Players’ Player of the Year – Lotu Inisi

La’auli Savae Sir Michael Jones Trophy for Forward of the Year – Lotu Inisi

Tuifa’asisina Sir Bryan Williams Back of the Year – Julian Savea

Fans Player of the Year – Lotu and Fine Inisi

Niu Award for Rookie of the Year – Allan Craig 

Maui Award for Best Attacking Player – Lotu Inisi

Tangaloa Award for Best Defensive Player – Sione Havili Talitui

Moana Pasifika Under 20s Player of the Year – Alistair Saulala 

Tautua Award – Solomone Funaki

Galue Award – Henry Taefu


See all news