Moana Pasifika names formidable line-up for pre-season game Friday

Moana Pasifika Head Coach Aaron Mauger has named three formidable lineups for Friday’s pre-season ‘Ofa Atu Tonga’ fundraising match against the Gallagher Chiefs.

The game will be played in three 30-minute blocks, allowing the coaches to test the full depth of their squad.

This is an historic occasion for Moana Pasifika being the first time the inaugural Super Rugby Pacific squad will play on their home ground, Mount Smart Stadium (kick off 7.05pm).

Under the current government restrictions, no spectators are allowed at the match. However, Sky Television have partnered with Moana Pasifika and will have LIVE coverage from 6.30pm. The match will also be free to air on Prime.

Mauger is excited for the challenge that the Gallagher Chiefs will bring to his newly-formed side.

“They’re a tough side who are renowned for their physicality and flare. This is our first chance to get a measure of where we are at compared to our opposition.”

“There’s added incentive for the team to put their best foot forward being a fundraising match and we’ve acknowledged the Kingdom of Tonga daily in our morning lotu.”

“I’m really excited for our players who have worked incredibly hard throughout the pre-season. This match presents them with an opportunity to test themselves at this level for the very first time.

To donate towards our fundraising appeal, please click here.

Moana Pasifika v Gallagher Chiefs (Jersey numbers may differ from below)

First 30-minutes

  1. Isi Tu’ungafasi
  2. Luteru Tolai
  3. Sekope Kepu
  4. Mike McKee
  5. Samuel Slade
  6. Sione Tu’ipulotu
  7. Alamanda Motuga
  8. Henry Time-Stowers
  9. Ereatara Enari
  10. Lincoln McClutchie
  11. Neria Foma’i
  12. Danny Toala
  13. Leni Aumua
  14. Anzelo Tuitavuki
  15. William Havili

Second 30-minutes

  1. Isi Tu’ungafasi/Ezekiel Lindenmuth
  2. Ray Niuia
  3. Sekope Kepu/Tau Koloamatangi
  4. Mike McKee/Veikoso Poloniati
  5. Don Lolo
  6. Alex McRobbie
  7. Alamanda Motuga
  8. Henry Time-Stowers
  9. Jonathan Taumateine
  10. Lincoln mcClutchie
  11. Tomasi Alosio
  12. Danny Toala/Henry Taefu
  13. Levi Aumua/Solomone Kata
  14. Anzelo Tuitavuki/Tima Fainga’anuku
  15. William Havili

Third 30-minutes

  1. Ezekiel Lindenmuth
  2. Samiuela Moli
  3. Tau Koloamatangi
  4. Veikoso Poloniati
  5. Alex McRobbie
  6. Felix Kalapu
  7. Niko Jones
  8. Lotu Inisi
  9. Manu Paea
  10. Christian Leali’ifano
  11. Fine Inisi
  12. Henry Taefu
  13. Solomone Kata
  14. Tima Fainga’anuku
  15. D’Angelo Leuila


Xavier Cowley-Tuioti

Jone Macilai-Tori

Suetena Asomua

See all news